Hola friends! (:

IMG_20150403_175813

Hola everyone! I’ve had it in my heart to start blogging for a while now but many changes in my life the last couple of years have had me on my toes. Finally friends and family asked to do this and I got the courage to start. Let me start by telling you a little bit about me; I was born and raised in Puerto Rico by an amazing big family.

At the age of 19 I decided to move back with my family, who had moved a year before to the United States, by then they lived in Dothan, AL. There is where my journey in motherhood began because a year later I was pregnant of my first son, got married to my mexican husband Oveth March 2008, had my firstborn Gabriel Armando September of that same year. Three years later we had our second child Giancarlo, in September 2011.

IMG_20150119_001801

After each of my births I had a very severe postpartum depression and even tho I had a history with bipolar depression, I was so scared of admitting I needed help from me but thanks to great support from family and friends I managed to survive for a long while with the symptoms.

Late 2012 life took a huge spin on our family and moved us away from our loved ones to Chattanooga, Tennessee. It was there that I met the most amazing children, incredible parents and, as I didn’t have enough great moms around me, God blessed me with a few more than became so much more than friends. Life was hard but our life wasn’t done changing because it was about to get even more amazing, my husband got a new job in Griffin, GA April 2014 and it was bittersweet due to leaving my children and friends but it meant we were going to be less than four hours away from our hometown in Bama.

Once settled in Georgia, I went back to being a stay at home mom and my depression got caught up with me, I felt hopeless and knew that I had to do something to get some help and start working on my recovery. First change, was the passion in my heart to teach made my heart burn with the passion to homeschool my now kindergartener, and thanks to my husband support, I finally made the decision to make it happen.

Homeschooling has been hard at first but let me tell you when God puts a desire in your heart, follow it, because it has forever changed my life. Thru homeschooling I’ve had the freedom to visit my family and friends in Bama as often as I want, connect with amazing moms here in Georgia, guide my smart little boys the best way I know how.

Second change, It wasn’t till I was close to being a year in Griffin that I finally took over my recovery and got the grace I needed to get some help; I was ready to let my body and mind back. After careful evaluation I got diagnosed with Bipolar Depression, it wasn’t a surprise but i was grateful to have an answer to my prayers. It’s been a little over a month with my medication and let me tell you it’s going to be a lot of work healing and experiencing all these emotions thru a stable mind. I’m going to different meetings and counseling weekly; my husband and I go to gym at least four times a week; and teaching my boys is even more therapeutic.

It’s not easy but this Mami is making priceless memories that I wouldn’t change for nothing in the whole world. I may not be where I need to be but thank God I’m not where I used to be- Joyce Meyer. I have my very tough days were my mind gives in to the negative but thanks to my recovery I can do my serenity prayer any time and start my day over.

I look forward to sharing many more Mami making memories moments with you all. Thanks for your time!

IMG_20150119_195623

Leave a Reply

